Skip to main content

The East Always Rises

Dominance over the last 16 years in the NBA can be summed up with these three words: The Western Conference.  These words can be followed up with two nicknames: The Big Fundamental and the Black Mamba.  You line up those two statements and what you get is an Eastern Conference that is continually trying to piece together a competitive balance in the NBA Finals.

Tim Duncan aka The Big Fundamental, leader of the San Antonio Spurs and Kobe Bryant aka Black Mamba, leader of the Los Angeles Lakers, have combined to win ten NBA titles during their career.  They've even split them right down the middle, winning five apiece.  Over the last sixteen years the Western Conference has won eleven titles.  (The 11th belongs to Dirk Nowitzki.  Tough era for him to win multiple titles in.)

The Eastern Conference has five titles during this span.  A title every third year.  Three belong to the Miami Heat, one to the Detroit Pistons, and one to the team of one year destiny, the Boston Celtics.  All of this begs the question: will the East rise again?

Last year, the eighth seed in the Easter Conference was the Atlanta Hawks, who sneaked into the playoffs with a record of 38-44.  Over in the Western Conference, the Phoenix Suns failed to make the playoffs with a record of 48-34.  In fact, this record would have placed the Suns as the third seed in the East.  Western domination?  Definitely.

On paper, it certainly looks like the quality of teams in the East is on the rise.  At the top of the heap, as always, sits Lebron James.  No, he's not a team, but he is debatably the top player in the game.  Where he goes, wins are surely to follow.  In a coup, the Cleveland Cavs also acquired Kevin Love, a top player that arrives from the Western Conference.  These two should lead the Cavs back to the upper echelon of the Eastern Conference.

Who will step up to join them?  If Derrick Rose remains healthy, the Bulls will be there.  The Heat and Pacers both lost key players, but both teams still have exceptional talent.  Toronto, Washington, and Charlotte all have a young nucleus and will continue to get better.  All of these teams have the tools in place to dethrone the Western Conference and its aging star power.

It won't be easy, of course, as not all of the Western Conference has old talent.  The Clippers, Warriors, Rockets, and Thunder all have a superstar (or two) to help continue the trend of winning two out of every 3 championships.  Of course, not all of these teams have tasted the Finals yet.  Due to the logjam created by Tim Duncan and Kobe Bryant, only Kevin Durant, Dwight Howard, and James Harden have been to the Finals.  That means if and when players such as Steph Curry, Chris Paul, and Blake Griffin get there they may be easier to take down.

If you look at the years 1983-1998, the Eastern Conference dominated in number of titles won.  During this span, the Western Conference won only five titles while the East won eleven titles.  This era was dominated by Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, and the Bad Boys of Motown.  If you are to look closely, when momentum shifted in the late 90's, the old guard of the Eastern Conference had retired or were busy toiling away in Washington.  The youth of Tim Duncan, Kobe Bryant, and Shaquille O'Neal took hold, beginning the current cycle we are in today.

We won't truly know if a new cycle begins this year for another nine months, but dominoes seem to be falling into the direction of the Eastern Conference.  The East will rise again.  Lebron James, playing in five championships, has carried the weight for years.  It's time for other teams to follow his lead and help bring championships back to where basketball began: the East.


Popular posts from this blog

The Bromance of Freddie Prinze, Jr. and Matthew Lillard

In the late 1990's and early 2000's, there was no greater bromance than that between Freddie Prinze, Jr. and Matthew Lillard. The two of them appeared in no less than five movies together in a five year time span. These two were meant to be. Two young stars destined to take the world by storm as a team. Hanging out, meeting women, and enjoying the good life. And then, just like that, stardom was ripped away from them. Though they continued to work, they would never appear together again in a film.
What was it that pulled them apart? Did they just choose to go different directions? Was it Sarah Michelle Gellar that drove a wedge between these two? While Lillard eventually went on to star in an Oscar nominated film (The Descendants), Prinze, Jr. went on to write for the WWE and occasionally show up as a guest star on television shows. While both have tried, neither has recaptured that joy that once displayed on screen. Tonight, I want to dutifully remind the world of t…

From Negan with Love

YouTube screenshot
*The following contains Spoilers from the season 7 premiere of "The Walking Dead"
"Pissing our pants yet? Boy, do I have a feeling we're getting close."- Negan, The Walking Dead

And people thought Ramsay Bolton was sadistic.

The much anticipated season seven premiere of The Walking Dead hit the airwaves last Sunday. Boy, was it a doozy.
I am not going to spend much time on what side of the liked/didn't like it/I'm never watching again spectrum I fall in. I will say that I was enraptured, on the edge of my seat for nearly the entire one hour, six minutes (including commercials) of the episode. This was an episode that filled me with a sense of existential dread for the characters inhabiting The Walking Dead world. It is a feeling that is still with me nearly two days later.
As a disclaimer, I am only through the first ten volumes of the graphic novels. I have yet to reach the Negan arc. I am also on the side of the court that didn't m…

American Sports Franchises Thirsty for a Title

image courtesy of
A billy goat. A dash of bad luck. A sprinkle of a die hard fan. Leon Durham. Add those together and you have the beginnings of the recipe for the curse that has haunted the Chicago Cubs for over 70 years.
In winning the 2016 World Series, the Cubs collected their first World Series title since 1908. Their seven-game victory effectively ended the longest title drought among the four major professional sports leagues in the United States.

Now that the talk of a goat and Bartman can be put to rest, it is now the Cleveland Indians sitting on the longest drought in the Major League baseball. The Indians will be discussed here, as will the other longest droughts in the three other major American sports leagues.
MLB-Cleveland Indians
The Indians moved through the American League this postseason with ease. First, they swept the Boston Red Sox in the ALDS. Then, they took care of the Toronto Blue Jays in five games.
Yes, the Indians lost in the World Series after l…